Search
Agenda items · Meetings
Searching…
Agenda items · Meetings
Searching…
Jun 4, 2026
personnel board
The Compton Personnel Board held a special meeting on June 4, 2026, approving several routine staffing actions including eligibility lists for two assistant electrician and three office assistant positions, three temporary 90-day appointments, and the exemption of an associate civil engineer position from classified service for up to six months while recruitment continues. The board abolished the Code Enforcement Officer 2 eligibility list because those positions have been reclassified as Public Safety Supervisors, and abolished the Painter list after the top candidate fell through. The board tabled approval of October 2023 meeting minutes so newer members could review video recordings, while approving the May 2026 minutes with one abstention from newly appointed member Bryant. Board member Black raised concerns about expiring temporary payroll specialist appointments in the city controller's office and was told recruitment should be ready for the next regular meeting.
Mar 17, 2026
city council
The council's largest spending action was approving Road Repair Project Phase IX, which encompasses a $5.58 million contract with Hardy & Harper, Inc. for construction and six separate line items to Bowman Infrastructure Engineers Ltd. totaling approximately $1.22 million for construction management and inspection services; the council voted specifically on a Bowman contract amendment stated in the resolution as $204,116.70, passing 4-0-1 with one abstention unnamed in the record — Bowman also held a $257,977 construction management contract approved in October 2024 for the same project type, and that identical figure reappears among the current Bowman line items. The council also approved a $98,375 contract with [Selbert Perkins Design](https://selbertperkins.com/) for municipal branding and marketing consulting services, 5-0 after council discussion; the amount falls $1,625 below the $100,000 approval threshold. The full consent agenda — including a $250,000 recurring purchase order with Springbrook Holding Company LLC for utility billing software (a vendor the city has paid continuously since at least 2009, when comparable orders were under $52,000), $182,182 to the LA Gateway Region Integrated Regional Water Management JPA for water quality monitoring, and $63,112 to Advanced Compliance Engineering for fuel pump maintenance — passed 5-0 without discussion. More than fifteen residents addressed the council during public comment on non-spending matters including pothole damage claims, parking enforcement disputes, and code enforcement concerns; no members of the public spoke to any of the spending items on the agenda.
Mar 10, 2026
city council
The council's two largest spending approvals at the March 17, 2026 meeting were a $204,116.70 amendment to an existing professional services agreement with Bowman Infrastructure Engineers Ltd. for additional construction management and inspection on road repair project phase nine—passed with four affirmative votes and one abstention—and a contract not to exceed $98,375 with Silbert Perkins Design for municipal branding and marketing consulting, passed 5-0; the Silbert Perkins amount sits $1,625 below $100,000, which analysts typically flag as a potential threshold-adjacent figure, though Compton's specific contract approval threshold is not stated in the meeting materials. Bowman Infrastructure Engineers is a repeat vendor on a multi-phase road project, with this item adding funds to an existing agreement whose original contract value is not disclosed in the available materials. A Special Legal Counsel Authorization Resolution (Item 2 on the structured agenda) was also approved as part of the consent agenda, 5-0, with no dollar amount appearing in the available materials. More than fifteen residents addressed the council during public comment on non-spending matters—including pothole damage reimbursement denials, parking enforcement disputes, code enforcement complaints, and questions about commissioner eligibility to run for office—while no members of the public addressed either the Bowman or Silbert Perkins spending items before those votes were taken.
Jan 16, 2024
city council
The council's largest spending approval was $404,470 to The Garland Company, Inc. for fire station roofing materials, divided across two ARPA-funded line items ($216,344 and $188,126) on a single agenda item and approved 5-0 with no discussion; the council also approved 5-0 a total of $45,000 to Screamin Eagle Services, Inc. for illegal dumping cleanup split across three separate payments ($22,500, $14,580, and $7,920) — the largest single payment sits just below the $25,000 approval threshold, and a company representative appeared during public comment to report invoices going unpaid for 45 to 75 days. A three-year elevator service agreement totaling $39,060 with Pacific Coast Elevator Corporation DBA Amtech Elevator Services (Measure P funds), with Councilman Bowers raising but not pursuing a question about whether a ramp should replace the serviced wheelchair lift, and $31,185 in Gateway Cities Council of Governments membership dues were each approved 5-0. A proposed twelve-month lease with CHIRLA — structured as revenue to the city, not a spending item — was pulled by the city manager, who cited ambiguity between two listed rent figures in the agreement and Surplus Lands Act concerns about undercharging. A council motion to remove Barbara Baker from the Federal Grants Advisory Board failed 1-2 with two abstentions (Spicer in favor; Duhart and Bowers opposed; Darden and Mayor Sharif abstaining), and approximately fourteen members of the public addressed the council on illegal dumping, unpaid vendor invoices, budget transparency, potholes, and public safety.